TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, please do not block our ads. Thank you.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Network plugs

  1. #1
    Should Get Out More the phantom pieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    8,047
    Like
    136
    Liked 112 in 82 posts

    Default Network plugs

    Has any used the plug systems that allow you to you the electical cabling in the house as a network?

    Such as
    TP-Link TL-PA211KIT 200Mbps Mini Powerline Ethernet Adapter -

    Do they work or are they total cack?


  2. TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, please do not block our ads. Thank you.
  3. #2
    Should Get Out More
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Uist
    Posts
    14,480
    Like
    0
    Liked 133 in 70 posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Network plugs

    Yep. I've used devolo wireless/wired plugs and they are IMO fantastic. Ah the joys of metre thick stone walls and steel plates in the upstairs floor than conspire to block any signal from a wireless router.

    Mine are the dark blue ones. I'll find the model number when I'm not using it

  4. #3
    Should Get Out More the phantom pieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    8,047
    Like
    136
    Liked 112 in 82 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs

    Quote Originally Posted by cheb View Post
    Yep. I've used devolo wireless/wired plugs and they are IMO fantastic. Ah the joys of metre thick stone walls and steel plates in the upstairs floor than conspire to block any signal from a wireless router.

    Mine are the dark blue ones. I'll find the model number when I'm not using it
    If you could that would be great !

  5. #4
    Should Get Out More
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Uist
    Posts
    14,480
    Like
    0
    Liked 133 in 70 posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Network plugs

    No model number on it. It's a wireless one but also has an ethernet socket in the base.

    There's other that are also plug through versions, i.e. it plugs into the socket and has another 240v 3 pin socket on the front.

    I think there are also ethernet cable only versions.

  6. #5
    Really Bored Loz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Basingrad
    Posts
    3,787
    Like
    0
    Liked 0 in 0 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs

    I use a pair of ZyXEL ones to extend my copper network down to the PS3. Works fine. I also have a similar jobber for the phone line into the Sky+ box.
    Register to join this UK Motorbike Forum, start a motorbike blog, or use our free motorbike classifieds!

  7. #6
    Should Get Out More Mr OCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Kearsley, Bolton
    Posts
    8,059
    Like
    279
    Liked 86 in 56 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs

    Quote Originally Posted by Loz View Post
    I use a pair of ZyXEL ones to extend my copper network down to the PS3. Works fine. I also have a similar jobber for the phone line into the Sky+ box.
    Yep I've used these for years...
    Register to join this UK Motorbike Forum, start a motorbike blog, or use our free motorbike classifieds!

  8. #7
    Should Get Out More mallett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wilts
    Posts
    5,050
    Like
    56
    Liked 53 in 37 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs

    Yes. 200mb tp link ones. Pack of 2 about 35. I get 100mbs connection speeds in a old victorian house with dodgy wiring.

  9. #8
    Not Much To Do Mosschops13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Poole
    Posts
    618
    Like
    3
    Liked 11 in 10 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs

    Only comment I would make is DO NOT mix and match - make sure models are a matched pair, not all homeplug stuffs plays nice!

    I took the other route for my WiFi hostile home and ran CAT5 everywhere with a Wireless access point in the lounge for convenience.

  10. #9
    Should Get Out More the phantom pieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    8,047
    Like
    136
    Liked 112 in 82 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs

    And if you use them , I presume I can still run my wireless (for iphones, iPads etc)
    And do you have to connect directly to the router - or can I move to a place in the middle of the house to get a spread of signal , and connect via the plug socket network?

  11. #10
    Should Get Out More
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Uist
    Posts
    14,480
    Like
    0
    Liked 133 in 70 posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Network plugs

    Dunno too much about the above.

    Mine goes ISP thingy box>dumb switch>router>firewall>homeplug into a socket>wireless signal from homeplugs dotted about the house.

    I know the above probably looks terrible from an installer's PoV but it's what works. The ISP box wouldn't talk to the firewall here so it had to have a router as an interpreter. I know someone further north on a different part of the ISP's network who can plug their identical firewall in and it'll work. The ISP won't discuss anything technical other than one computer plugged straight into their box. They are getting better, up until a couple of years ago the computer had to run Windows as they didn't know anything about other OSs.

  12. #11
    Should Get Out More
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Uist
    Posts
    14,480
    Like
    0
    Liked 133 in 70 posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Network plugs

    Mine look like this but with UK pins:


    An El Reg review here:

    Devolo dLAN Wireless Extender ? Reg Hardware

  13. #12
    Really Bored wheelnut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hanging by a thread
    Posts
    3,591
    Like
    12
    Liked 14 in 9 posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Network plugs

    All much of a muchness but I get all mine from here HomePlug & Powerline - from ::: 200Mbps - 20.00. Good support and if you ask him nicely he'll preconfigure any wireless ones with an ssid and pw of your choice.

  14. #13
    Should Get Out More mallett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wilts
    Posts
    5,050
    Like
    56
    Liked 53 in 37 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs

    Quote Originally Posted by the phantom pieman View Post
    And if you use them , I presume I can still run my wireless (for iphones, iPads etc)
    And do you have to connect directly to the router - or can I move to a place in the middle of the house to get a spread of signal , and connect via the plug socket network?
    Yes and Yes. The homeplug connects via ethernet cable to the router port then to the homeplug, that then gets plugged in the power socket.. Plug the other in where you want, connect cable to client. Job done.

  15. #14
    Should Get Out More Slenver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,208
    Like
    2
    Liked 8 in 4 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs

    I have the Devolo wireless ones, so the I have a plug connected to the router in the study and then the other plug in the living room that dishes out three ethernet cables as well as wi-fi. I have no choice but to have the router where it is and get a terrible wireless signal in the living room otherwise, so I now have PS3, AppleTV connected by cable for maximumness and then a full wi-fi signal for everything else.

    Just need another one at the back of the flat now but can't be bothered to fork out.

  16. #15
    At Work Lob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,950
    Like
    13
    Liked 17 in 12 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs

    Devolo AVSmart 200+ - you can get 500+s now.
    HD video runs fine over this.
    Works well in a 100-year-old apartment and 20-year-old house.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Go Back to Forum My Forum