TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, please do not block our ads. Thank you.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wireless devices.....Scanners?

  1. #1
    Really Bored Monstyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Soviet Republic of Ayrshire
    Posts
    3,995
    Like
    19
    Liked 123 in 71 posts

    Default Wireless devices.....Scanners?

    I have a wireless printer set up which seems to work well, its also a scanner, is it possible to use this function wirelessly( I cant find any relevant info anywhere) or do I need to plug it in to any machine I want to scan with? The scanner in question is an Epson SX535wd.


  2. TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, please do not block our ads. Thank you.
  3. #2
    At Work Lob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,986
    Like
    23
    Liked 25 in 20 posts

    Default Re: Wireless devices.....Scanners?

    usually needs to be connected via USB to scan. You might be able to scan to a network location but fine control usually needs connection with USB

  4. #3
    Really Bored Monstyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Soviet Republic of Ayrshire
    Posts
    3,995
    Like
    19
    Liked 123 in 71 posts

    Default Re: Wireless devices.....Scanners?

    OK thanks, I thought that might be the case but couldn't find a definitive answer anywhere.

  5. #4
    Should Get Out More go_slow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    is not fixed no more.
    Posts
    20,175
    Like
    854
    Liked 1,244 in 781 posts
    Blog Entries
    19

    Default Re: Wireless devices.....Scanners?

    Got the same issue with the HP I have, ended up using home plugs to get the network to the printer. I did get it to scan to a network location once but it was such a faff that it was worth buying the home plugs.

  6. #5
    A Bit Bored
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ramsau Am Dachstein, Steiermark, Austria
    Posts
    260
    Like
    4
    Liked 12 in 8 posts

    Default Re: Wireless devices.....Scanners?

    Just looked at the Epson SX535wd and it should scan wirelessly but lots of people appear to have problems. Most get support from Epson to resolve it and it appears to be an IP Address issue in many cases https://www.epson.co.uk/gb/en/viewco...faq/11004/3848

  7. #6
    Should Get Out More Mr OCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Kearsley, Bolton
    Posts
    8,428
    Like
    674
    Liked 208 in 139 posts

    Default Re: Wireless devices.....Scanners?

    Scan to email probably easier tbh

  8. #7
    A Bit Bored
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    131
    Like
    0
    Liked: 1/1

    Default Re: Wireless devices.....Scanners?

    I've got an Epson BX305 and previously a SX510W and you can scan from the network.

    Install the drivers again from the CD (or download all documents from Epson) then you should have a program called Epson Network Setup if you open this you should be able to find the printer/scanner. Once connected to your printer over wireless open the Epson Scan Settings program which should have a button to scan either connected or wireless then you need to open the Epson scan program to actually scan.

    Hope this helps.

  9. #8
    At Work Clanktank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Swindon
    Posts
    1,472
    Like
    5
    Liked 35 in 14 posts

    Default Re: Wireless devices.....Scanners?

    I have a HP 6500A Plus wireless printer/scanner that happily does both remotely and saves wherever you like, but for scanning you still have to walk up to it and put in the bit of paper you want to scan, so a little pointless.

  10. #9
    Really Bored Monstyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Soviet Republic of Ayrshire
    Posts
    3,995
    Like
    19
    Liked 123 in 71 posts

    Default Re: Wireless devices.....Scanners?

    I managed to get it to work eventually, it seems there was something blocking it, and I still get a stupid pop up on starting about blocking it on public networks which is irritating- why cant it seem to remember what I've ticked.

    I know you have to walk physically to the scanner but after that I dont have to faff around with transferring files via memory sticks or cards so is still worthwhile doing.

Go Back to Forum My Forum