TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, please do not block our ads. Thank you.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Sky+ HD box question

  1. #1
    Really Bored LadyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Medway, Kent
    Posts
    2,218
    Like
    8
    Liked: 1/1

    Default Sky+ HD box question

    OK, first world problem and I clearly don't have a life asking the masses about this on a perfectly good Saturday evening;

    I have Sky+, I want to use the Sky Remote control app feature on my tablet instead of the Sky remote control, but I need to have an HD box for that. Is it as easy as get a 2nd hand HD box and swap them over? As far as I can google, I can then also watch BBC, ITV & Ch4/5 in HD without subscribing to SkyHD channels. I don't watch enough telly to want to subscribe. But I have my Sky box in a cupboard, so the app remote would be really useful. I bought a "magic eye" but it won't work.
    Register to join this UK Motorbike Forum, start a motorbike blog, or use our free motorbike classifieds!


  2. TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, please do not block our ads. Thank you.
  3. #2
    At Work
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,448
    Like
    0
    Liked 15 in 6 posts

    Default Re: Sky+ HD box question

    You can do that, but you would need to ring Sky to get the card registered to that box I believe.

  4. #3
    Should Get Out More 1888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    East Lothian
    Posts
    21,259
    Like
    73
    Liked 216 in 153 posts

    Default Re: Sky+ HD box question

    Bin Sky. Phone Sky as you get great offers as a new customer at the moment. Another option is fine a good deal you like and threaten to end your contract unless you get it. I have an HD box but no HD TV. No I am not going to swap with you.

  5. #4
    Really Bored LadyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Medway, Kent
    Posts
    2,218
    Like
    8
    Liked: 1/1

    Default Re: Sky+ HD box question

    Quote Originally Posted by 1888 View Post
    Bin Sky. Phone Sky as you get great offers as a new customer at the moment. Another option is fine a good deal you like and threaten to end your contract unless you get it. I have an HD box but no HD TV. No I am not going to swap with you.
    You're no fun at all
    Register to join this UK Motorbike Forum, start a motorbike blog, or use our free motorbike classifieds!

  6. #5
    Should Get Out More 1888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    East Lothian
    Posts
    21,259
    Like
    73
    Liked 216 in 153 posts

    Default Re: Sky+ HD box question

    Quote Originally Posted by LadyB View Post
    You're no fun at all
    I am but you are having fun with The Martian so bugger off.

  7. #6
    Really Bored LadyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Medway, Kent
    Posts
    2,218
    Like
    8
    Liked: 1/1

    Default Re: Sky+ HD box question

    Quote Originally Posted by 1888 View Post
    I am but you are having fun with The Martian so bugger off.
    Well that was news to me! Wonder if the Martian minds!
    Register to join this UK Motorbike Forum, start a motorbike blog, or use our free motorbike classifieds!

  8. #7
    Should Get Out More 1888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    East Lothian
    Posts
    21,259
    Like
    73
    Liked 216 in 153 posts

    Default Re: Sky+ HD box question

    Quote Originally Posted by LadyB View Post
    Well that was news to me! Wonder if the Martian minds!
    Don't think he does. He was sniffing round after you posted the picture of your eye brow tat. He was to shy to ask you out.

  9. #8
    At Work Lob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,950
    Like
    13
    Liked 17 in 12 posts

    Default Re: Sky+ HD box question

    Quote Originally Posted by scud View Post
    You can do that, but you would need to ring Sky to get the card registered to that box I believe.
    only if you have movies and sport

  10. #9
    Not Much To Do TightRS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW England
    Posts
    423
    Like
    26
    Liked: 1/1

    Default Re: Sky+ HD box question

    Have you gone to the hidden menu using: Services, 4, 0, 1, Select and turned on the power to the secondary RF outlet, to power the eye? Check if the LED is lit up on it. I think it only works if plugged into RF2 at the back of the box. Check the strands of aerial wire don't touch the inner wire or it'll short out. An aerial distribution amp can also stop it working and you have to bypass it if so.

    I bought a clone for 4 as I already had another remote and it's fine antiference eye | eBay

    The controls on my Android tablet aren't that great as a replacement remote. I had a banner stuck onscreen and needed to press backup, but on the tablet most of the usual buttons aren't there and nothing would work. You can only swipe to change channel, play, pause, rewind, etc or type 1-9. The EPG and display of recorded stuff in the planner is great though.




    http://www.sky.com/mysky/latestnews/...s-app-on-ipad/ iPad demo

    I think you can pair a new box with your card by going into the hidden menu (Services 0, 0, 1, Select for a HD box) and choosing new installation, if connected to the phone line.
    Register to join this UK Motorbike Forum, start a motorbike blog, or use our free motorbike classifieds!

Go Back to Forum My Forum