TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, please do not block our ads. Thank you.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

  1. #1
    Should Get Out More the phantom pieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    8,000
    Like
    118
    Liked 109 in 80 posts

    Default Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    I have spent the day install more network plugs , as my wifi throughout the house is not great.

    I have a Thomson Wifi router that supplies the wifi. This is then network cables to the the network plus to supply the internet feed. And it works well.

    Attached to the router is a Synology NAS.
    I am convinced that my iMac works faster when wireless is switched off - so it uses the plug network. But if I turn off the wifi on the iMac, then the Synology disappears from the network. But reappears if you turn wifi back on ...

    But with the NAS plumbed into the router, that feeds the network, why is it only detectable if wifi is on?

    And would having wifi switched on or off affect internet speed etc?

    Thanks
    TPP


  2. TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, please do not block our ads. Thank you.
  3. #2
    Not Much To Do Mosschops13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Poole
    Posts
    605
    Like
    2
    Liked 10 in 9 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    What happens if you plug the NAS into another part of the network? Do you have another switch you could connect it to? Can you give us an idea of the topology of your network? I would expect transfer speeds to be faster over cat5 than wireless anyway, even with the latest 5GHz type wifi.

  4. #3
    Should Get Out More the phantom pieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    8,000
    Like
    118
    Liked 109 in 80 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    Quote Originally Posted by Mosschops13 View Post
    What happens if you plug the NAS into another part of the network? Do you have another switch you could connect it to? Can you give us an idea of the topology of your network? I would expect transfer speeds to be faster over cat5 than wireless anyway, even with the latest 5GHz type wifi.
    That is why I want to move the bugger!! I will try and move it to a spare switch

  5. #4
    Really Bored KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    4,791
    Like
    21
    Liked 148 in 106 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    Double check any manual setting applied to your network devices. The router is probably giving out DHCP leases, but I imagine you've manually entered the IP settings on the SAN or possibly the hardwired LAN on the Mac?

    Check your subnet masks and gateways anywhere you might have manually specified an address.

  6. #5
    Should Get Out More the phantom pieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    8,000
    Like
    118
    Liked 109 in 80 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    Quote Originally Posted by KungFooBob View Post
    Double check any manual setting applied to your network devices. The router is probably giving out DHCP leases, but I imagine you've manually entered the IP settings on the SAN or possibly the hardwired LAN on the Mac?

    Check your subnet masks and gateways anywhere you might have manually specified an address.
    ok - you have already lost me !!

  7. #6
    Really Bored KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    4,791
    Like
    21
    Liked 148 in 106 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    Right, on the Mac, give us the IP/Mask/GW when on the wireless and when on the Hardwired connection.... it'll be something like....

    192.168.1.10 IP
    255.255.255.0 Subnet Mask
    192.168.1.1 Gateway

    (as an example)

    You'll find them somewhere in the Network section of system preferences or in the 'About This Mac'.

  8. #7
    Should Get Out More the phantom pieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    8,000
    Like
    118
    Liked 109 in 80 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    Actually, I had a fiddle with the router settings, named the NAS and it now works ...

  9. #8
    Really Bored KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    4,791
    Like
    21
    Liked 148 in 106 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    Did you call it Prince?

  10. #9
    Should Get Out More the phantom pieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    8,000
    Like
    118
    Liked 109 in 80 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    I called it KungFooBob actually ...

    Twas only fair ...

    ;-)

  11. #10
    Really Bored KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    4,791
    Like
    21
    Liked 148 in 106 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    Cool.

    I guess it must have been either a Netbios or maybe a DNS issue if just changing the name fixed it, probably a Netbios thing if you're using SMB from the Mac.

  12. #11
    Should Get Out More the phantom pieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    8,000
    Like
    118
    Liked 109 in 80 posts

    Default Re: Network plugs and a disappearing NAS

    Quote Originally Posted by KungFooBob View Post
    Cool.

    I guess it must have been either a Netbios or maybe a DNS issue if just changing the name fixed it, probably a Netbios thing if you're using SMB from the Mac.
    Off to google netbios and SMB ... there really is a whole different world out there !

Go Back to Forum My Forum