TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, don't block the ads check them out instead. Thank you.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 57

Thread: Route Planning

  1. #1
    Should Get Out More couchcommando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9,305
    Like
    161
    Liked 3,756 in 1,683 posts

    Default Route Planning


    TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like
    the content you find here, don't block the ads check
    them out instead. Thank you.
    I want to sit in front of my computer and plan a route for riding, it'll include normal roads and some green lanes. I can plan a route on google or something similar but then I want to upload to a smartphone or gps and hit follow route, preferably a device that can work off line and not need a data signal. Strava app can do this but needs a data signal for the map section so anyone know a way to do it thanks

  2. #2
    Strange but happy. adamski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Near a bar
    Posts
    7,815
    Like
    4,684
    Liked 2,560 in 1,419 posts
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default Re: Route Planning

    No, but I need the same thing!

  3. #3
    Should Get Out More Derek Badger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    28,653
    Like
    2,632
    Liked 2,620 in 1,151 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    TYRE and a tomtom/garmin is what I use for road work. I use Memory Maps for cycling (on and off/road) as it uses OS mapping layers. Both of which require a GPS but not a data signal.

  4. #4
    Should Get Out More KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    16,522
    Like
    400
    Liked 7,246 in 4,087 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    I got a free Tyre Pro license with my TomTom 400.

    It's pretty good, works with Garmin's too.

    Uses the Google Maps API's so everything is nicely up to date.

  5. The following user liked this post made by KungFooBob:


  6. #5
    Should Get Out More KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    16,522
    Like
    400
    Liked 7,246 in 4,087 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    There's a Tyre app too, but I've never used it.

  7. #6
    Should Get Out More Pirahna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6,482
    Like
    996
    Liked 1,557 in 808 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    I do shit loads of this for mountain biking. I use a Garmin Etrex on the bike and Garmin Basecamp on the PC. If you do decide to buy a Garmin you'll need some maps and an SD card, let me know and I'll see what I can do.

    Edit: thinking about it, an Etrex might not be too good for a motorcycle. The map tiles can be slow to load sometimes, not a problem on a bicycle but I can catch it out going downhill.
    Last edited by Pirahna; 31-01-17 at 17:24.

  8. The following user liked this post made by Pirahna:


  9. #7
    At Work
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    1,415
    Like
    77
    Liked 462 in 244 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    Another vote for Tyre here. You might even pick up some routes you can adjust from the Tyre website

  10. #8
    Should Get Out More Editor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    24,179
    Like
    9,983
    Liked 1,491 in 1,046 posts
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default Re: Route Planning

    whatever it is that Adam uses seems pretty damned good.

  11. #9
    Should Get Out More 1888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    JockLand
    Posts
    26,778
    Like
    864
    Liked 2,787 in 1,996 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    As they say Tyre or another Called ITN. Just watch when plotting a route. I did one to fallow the road up the side of the Mossel River. When you pin a waypoing make sure its on the correct side of the road as if your on a Dual carriageway your sat nav may send you back till you go over it. Mine did twice and in a town i must have been well off as it took me up winding streets in a town. The streets were all one way and took me back down to the road i was on but my waypoint was a house near the corner, Oops. Had i been in a larger van i would have been fooked.

  12. #10
    A Bit Bored
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    170
    Like
    0
    Liked 68 in 43 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    I used to try to do this. Then got fed up. Brought myself the latest Tom Tom rider. Set route preference to most twisty max elevation and it takes you down roads you don't know even existed.

    Managed to ride from Hertfordshire to Weston super mare with 90% non main roads. Brilliant.

    Even using it locally one day I did 30 miles on roads I had never seen. Plus you can easily draw routes on the sat nav and set way points.

    Be prepared it takes you on proper single track mud, gravel farms roads lol.

  13. The following user liked this post made by Tel 636:


  14. #11
    A Bit Bored
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    30
    Like
    0
    Liked 2 in 2 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    www.ridewithgps.com

    the only issue is when you start planning 500+ mile routes, it has lots of way points and does not like that.

    They have an app which can be used offline. Or you can download the gpx and put that on a garmin/tom tom.

    https://ridewithgps.com/help/offline-maps-iphone

  15. #12
    Should Get Out More couchcommando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9,305
    Like
    161
    Liked 3,756 in 1,683 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    Just reading about tyre and it seems the route you plan has a limited number of way points and when loaded into the Tom Tom the sat nav plots between the way points ?, is this right as I want it to blindly follow my route with no other suggestions or alterations and the routes I have already have a lot of waypoints

  16. #13
    Should Get Out More KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    16,522
    Like
    400
    Liked 7,246 in 4,087 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    Quote Originally Posted by couchcommando View Post
    Just reading about tyre and it seems the route you plan has a limited number of way points and when loaded into the Tom Tom the sat nav plots between the way points ?, is this right as I want it to blindly follow my route with no other suggestions or alterations and the routes I have already have a lot of waypoints
    Difference between Waypoints and Tracks.

    If you use Tracks the Satnag doesn't calculate a route between waypoints, it uses your defined 'track'.

  17. The following user liked this post made by KungFooBob:


  18. #14
    Should Get Out More Bigyin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    23,024
    Like
    2,373
    Liked 3,823 in 1,934 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    I use Tyre with an old Tom Tom on the bike but i did find problems converting the routes Adam sent me as his software was different that he used with his Garmin. I can remember the software he uses but it works very very well and as you well know he likes to deviate off the beaten track for his routes.

    He'll find this thread at some point soon and answer the question rather than me trawling through months of our pre Norway discussions on messenger where he told me what he uses

  19. #15
    Should Get Out More KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    16,522
    Like
    400
    Liked 7,246 in 4,087 posts

    Default Re: Route Planning

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigyin View Post
    I use Tyre with an old Tom Tom on the bike but i did find problems converting the routes Adam sent me as his software was different that he used with his Garmin. I can remember the software he uses but it works very very well and as you well know he likes to deviate off the beaten track for his routes.

    He'll find this thread at some point soon and answer the question rather than me trawling through months of our pre Norway discussions on messenger where he told me what he uses
    Basecamp?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Go Back to Forum My Forum

TRC Affiliates - Help TRC make a small amount of commission