Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

  1. #16
    Should Get Out More Julian_Boolean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nearly at the dawn of Britain
    Posts
    13,561
    Like
    807
    Liked 2,358 in 1,405 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    You lot like to make things complicated for yourselves.

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk

  2. #17
    Should Get Out More DefTrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Roger Barlow's Tour of Europe
    Posts
    23,020
    Like
    2,333
    Liked 2,143 in 1,290 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by Julian_Boolean View Post
    You lot like to make things complicated for yourselves.

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk
    Do share, is it a secret?

  3. #18
    Should Get Out More Julian_Boolean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nearly at the dawn of Britain
    Posts
    13,561
    Like
    807
    Liked 2,358 in 1,405 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by DefTrap View Post
    Do share, is it a secret?
    You all seem to be using over complicated solutions to your requirements, list out what you're trying to do and then find the easiest solution.

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk

  4. #19
    Should Get Out More DefTrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Roger Barlow's Tour of Europe
    Posts
    23,020
    Like
    2,333
    Liked 2,143 in 1,290 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    I'll start.

    I want to watch telly abroad that is blocked by my geographical location.
    My ISP is Orange, they provide a router I can't reconfigure beyond the basics, the firmware doesn't support it afaict.

    That's it really.

  5. #20
    Retired & Happy Yorick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lanzarote
    Posts
    36,155
    Like
    4,597
    Liked 4,714 in 2,944 posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by Julian_Boolean View Post
    You all seem to be using over complicated solutions to your requirements, list out what you're trying to do and then find the easiest solution.

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk
    My ISP is Movistar and some websites are blocked. Can I get a fix/bodge ?

  6. #21
    Should Get Out More Julian_Boolean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nearly at the dawn of Britain
    Posts
    13,561
    Like
    807
    Liked 2,358 in 1,405 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by DefTrap View Post
    I'll start.

    I want to watch telly abroad that is blocked by my geographical location.
    My ISP is Orange, they provide a router I can't reconfigure beyond the basics, the firmware doesn't support it afaict.

    That's it really.
    Could you use a proxy service so that your source IP is a UK one?

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk

  7. #22
    Should Get Out More Julian_Boolean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nearly at the dawn of Britain
    Posts
    13,561
    Like
    807
    Liked 2,358 in 1,405 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by Yorick View Post
    My ISP is Movistar and some websites are blocked. Can I get a fix/bodge ?
    I doubt it, but it depends on how they're doing the blocking, some ISPs just put in fake DNS records, which can be got round by host file entries, but if they're blocking by IP address you won't get round it.

    An option could be to remote control a PC on a different ISP.

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk

  8. The following user liked this post made by Julian_Boolean:


  9. #23
    Should Get Out More DefTrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Roger Barlow's Tour of Europe
    Posts
    23,020
    Like
    2,333
    Liked 2,143 in 1,290 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by Julian_Boolean View Post
    Could you use a proxy service so that your source IP is a UK one?

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk
    Already am, on a bridged router off the ISP provided one.

  10. #24
    Should Get Out More Julian_Boolean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nearly at the dawn of Britain
    Posts
    13,561
    Like
    807
    Liked 2,358 in 1,405 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by DefTrap View Post
    Already am, on a bridged router off the ISP provided one.
    How's that a proxy server, any traffic from it will have the same source IP as your ISP provided router

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk

  11. #25
    Should Get Out More DefTrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Roger Barlow's Tour of Europe
    Posts
    23,020
    Like
    2,333
    Liked 2,143 in 1,290 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by Julian_Boolean View Post
    How's that a proxy server, any traffic from it will have the same source IP as your ISP provided router

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk
    You tweak the DNS.
    Don't ask me anything else, the rest is smoke and mirrors. All I know is it works. it's smartdnsproxy, i followed the setup for ddwrt routers.

  12. #26
    Should Get Out More Julian_Boolean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nearly at the dawn of Britain
    Posts
    13,561
    Like
    807
    Liked 2,358 in 1,405 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    DDWRT is good

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Go Back to Forum My Forum