TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, don't block the ads check them out instead. Thank you.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

  1. #1
    Not Much To Do SNAFU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Dordogneshire
    Posts
    578
    Like
    25
    Liked 284 in 141 posts

    Default I need a router that I can use a vpn on.


    TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like
    the content you find here, don't block the ads check
    them out instead. Thank you.
    Give us your recommendations then.
    We only get 6mb connection here so don't need a megabucks unit.

  2. #2
    Should Get Out More KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    15,722
    Like
    378
    Liked 6,774 in 3,837 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    You mean a Router that can do Point-to-Point VPN or you need a Router that you can VPN into?

    Either way, I used Draytek Vigors for all my Routing needs. They're very feature rich for not much money. I use them at all my remotes sites for IPSec P2P VPN'ing to the HO Sonicwall.

  3. #3
    Not Much To Do SNAFU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Dordogneshire
    Posts
    578
    Like
    25
    Liked 284 in 141 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    It's for use abroad with nordvpn so we can use iplayer etc.
    As for p2p or the other way I have no idea what I need.

  4. #4
    Should Get Out More DefTrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Roger Barlow's Tour of Europe
    Posts
    23,767
    Like
    2,642
    Liked 2,517 in 1,500 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    I'm using a Linksys e1200 router that I've bunged ddwrt on, and I pay subs to smartdnsproxy to get around location issues.

    It works fine but it's only 25 quids worth of kit, I'm sure there's better and more modern. Mine was only ever meant to be an experiment but it refuses to die ...

  5. #5
    Should Get Out More Noggin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    French Alps, La Plagne Dahrlink!
    Posts
    10,439
    Like
    14,670
    Liked 3,051 in 1,521 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Have you looked at filmon.com? Not sure how it compares in cost to a decent VPN, but I can watch all the uk tv I want from it and it will record (that function is limited, so you can't record loads and loads). Easier I found than the other as some things I use wont connect if the vpn is connected. And I'm a techno-numpty, so was all too much hassle for me!

  6. #6
    Should Get Out More RiceBurner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Hiding in your blind spot...
    Posts
    14,599
    Like
    3,478
    Liked 1,335 in 761 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Currently we're using NordVPN from the devices, rather than at the router. Works fine for us on 2 laptops and 2 phones.

    Obviously things like Kindles aren't using the VPN.

    Our routers are a Huawei MiFi for mobile broadband (not sure if VPN can be enacted on this device), and a WiFi booster (not sure of the model, we bought it from motorhomewifi pre-configured), again - not sure if the VPN can be setup through that directly, but possibly.


    The only thing we can't really do is setup the ChromeCast we brought with us because although the phone might be using the VPN to see the UK version of (say) Netflix, the ChromeCast isn't using the VPN so when you try to throw a stream address to the Chromecast, the address source realises it's coming from France, not the UK, and so refuses to serve the file. hey ho - we can live without it, we can always just HDMI the video from the laptop to the TV instead.

  7. #7
    Should Get Out More Ant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Sausagechester
    Posts
    17,682
    Like
    173
    Liked 1,283 in 908 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Out of interest, why use a VPN?

  8. #8
    Not Much To Do SNAFU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Dordogneshire
    Posts
    578
    Like
    25
    Liked 284 in 141 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Try watching iplayer/catch up abroad without it!

  9. #9
    Should Get Out More Julian_Boolean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    1985
    Posts
    15,084
    Like
    1,042
    Liked 3,072 in 1,846 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Is the VPN configured on the end device or the router?

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Should Get Out More DefTrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Roger Barlow's Tour of Europe
    Posts
    23,767
    Like
    2,642
    Liked 2,517 in 1,500 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    I think I need to upgrade my router to get VPN to work 100% - the current service is ok but there's occasional speed and dropout issues ...
    This is all entirely expected for something that is a bit on the hooky side. Given that, the service favours 'acceptable' i.e. not annoying enough to fling out the window (my missus would disagree) - of the Apps that I use that need to be geo-neutral it's BBC iPLayer that is the service most likely to fail (need reboot etc), closely followed by NowTV and Kodi.

  11. #11
    Should Get Out More Julian_Boolean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    1985
    Posts
    15,084
    Like
    1,042
    Liked 3,072 in 1,846 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by DefTrap View Post
    I think I need to upgrade my router to get VPN to work 100% - the current service is ok but there's occasional speed and dropout issues ...
    This is all entirely expected for something that is a bit on the hooky side. Given that, the service favours 'acceptable' i.e. not annoying enough to fling out the window (my missus would disagree) - of the Apps that I use that need to be geo-neutral it's BBC iPLayer that is the service most likely to fail (need reboot etc), closely followed by NowTV and Kodi.
    It's more likely to be your adsl circuit dropping out, all a VPN consists of is ordinary IP packets with the content encrypted

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Should Get Out More DefTrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Roger Barlow's Tour of Europe
    Posts
    23,767
    Like
    2,642
    Liked 2,517 in 1,500 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by Julian_Boolean View Post
    It's more likely to be your adsl circuit dropping out, all a VPN consists of is ordinary IP packets with the content encrypted

    Sent from my SM-T560 using Tapatalk
    Only ever seems to be on the bridged router running the proxy server, the primary router is solid enough.

  13. #13
    Not Much To Do SNAFU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Dordogneshire
    Posts
    578
    Like
    25
    Liked 284 in 141 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Get yer own thread 😉
    We're using the orange sagem oe router with vpn on tablet/phone.
    Would be nice to get our 'smart tv to use the vpn but not sure that's possible.
    And fyi Deftrap we get regular drops on the line, it's a french thing.

  14. #14
    Should Get Out More KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    15,722
    Like
    378
    Liked 6,774 in 3,837 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Well I wouldn't recommend a TP-Link Archer MR400... I've had a right fucking ball ache getting an IPSec VPN to work on it.

  15. #15
    Should Get Out More DefTrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Roger Barlow's Tour of Europe
    Posts
    23,767
    Like
    2,642
    Liked 2,517 in 1,500 posts

    Default Re: I need a router that I can use a vpn on.

    Quote Originally Posted by SNAFU View Post
    Get yer own thread 
    We're using the orange sagem oe router with vpn on tablet/phone.
    Would be nice to get our 'smart tv to use the vpn but not sure that's possible.
    And fyi Deftrap we get regular drops on the line, it's a french thing.


    I have an Orange Livebox with an ethernet conection to linksys e1200 running dd-wrt. On that secondary server I pay for smartdnsproxy service which means I can then run my NowTv box off of that and get iPlayer consistently. The only service I haven't been able to get reliably are Amazon services.

    Yes I realise this is not a VPN setup, I only mention my own issues because (I'm told) this old router won't support the way this vpn needs to be set up - so I'll probably get a better one at some point - and it's something you may want to look into before your router purchase.

    Like I say it's reliable enough ish - so possibly I can't be arsed. It was a bit of a pain to set up - despite being 'in computers' I find the hardware / networky stuff fairly dull, so probably a toss-up next time whether I just buy something OTS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Go Back to Forum My Forum

TRC Affiliates - Help TRC make a small amount of commission