TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, don't block the ads check them out instead. Thank you.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22

Thread: Windows XP and networking

  1. #16
    Should Get Out More Mussels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Not in London
    Posts
    17,401
    Like
    1,277
    Liked 1,206 in 854 posts

    Default Re: Windows XP and networking


    TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like
    the content you find here, don't block the ads check
    them out instead. Thank you.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobzilla View Post
    Yes, I know, I'm onto a hiding to nothing with this, but I need a spare pooter and have a spare XP one, so off I go.

    My computer will quite happily talk to my sky fibre modem directly, but not through a wired router. Any suggestions (other than stop using XP)? Thanks.
    Is it on DHCP or fixed IP address, it may be coincidental that the IP matched your sky subnet but not the router's one.
    Last edited by Mussels; 13-11-18 at 15:27. Reason: sp

  2. The following user liked this post made by Mussels:


  3. #17
    Should Get Out More Bobzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wigan :(
    Posts
    10,834
    Like
    2,099
    Liked 1,102 in 728 posts
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Windows XP and networking

    Quote Originally Posted by Julian_Boolean View Post
    No you wanted Windows Me - the barstard offspring of 98
    ME was dire. 98V2 was a better OS.

  4. #18
    Should Get Out More Bobzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wigan :(
    Posts
    10,834
    Like
    2,099
    Liked 1,102 in 728 posts
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Windows XP and networking

    Quote Originally Posted by KungFooBob View Post
    Microsoft made a version of XP for retail.

    It's a version of Windows XP for Embedded systems called 'PosReady 2009'

    It's still supported until 2019.

    You can actually fool Windows Update into thinking your copy of XP is PosReady 2009 and you will still receive security updates from Microsoft.
    Pile of Shit?

  5. #19
    Should Get Out More Bobzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wigan :(
    Posts
    10,834
    Like
    2,099
    Liked 1,102 in 728 posts
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Windows XP and networking

    Quote Originally Posted by Editor View Post
    IMO best version ever of windows was 7. Now that I would use-if you could manage to tell us, or them if your prefer, what's inside the PC that would assist. But it will run on both my old towers because I have a drive I put 7 pro 64bit onto.
    I find 7 a little bit slow - I've now got hold of an OEM copy of 10 Pro for not many beans. Let's see how that works. If not, I'll just get a copy of 8.

  6. #20
    Should Get Out More KungFooBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Forest Moon of Endor
    Posts
    15,291
    Like
    363
    Liked 6,280 in 3,589 posts

    Default Re: Windows XP and networking

    Geez, whats a bunch of wimps.

  7. #21
    Should Get Out More Derek Badger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    28,195
    Like
    2,191
    Liked 2,091 in 943 posts

    Default Re: Windows XP and networking

    So did you find out what the issue was? Or in typical TRC tradition skirted the issue, ignored advice and got on with it.

  8. The following 2 users liked this useful post by Derek Badger:


  9. #22
    Should Get Out More Bobzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wigan :(
    Posts
    10,834
    Like
    2,099
    Liked 1,102 in 728 posts
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Windows XP and networking

    Quote Originally Posted by Derek Badger View Post
    So did you find out what the issue was? Or in typical TRC tradition skirted the issue, ignored advice and got on with it.
    No idea what the issue was, but took the early advice, which was:

    Quote Originally Posted by RiceBurner View Post
    Holy cow, kill it, kill it with fire!

    I know you said you didn't want to hear it, but please, for the sake of your own sanity, install a modern OS on the poor thing and make your life easier.
    So I rebuilt the PC with my previous mbd/processor (so build before my most recent one, Athlon X2 64 4200+, 6GB ram), new 120gb SSD and Windows 10. And it works fine, and networks properly. And I'm actually reasonably impressed with Win 10 as an OS.

    All good.

  10. The following 2 users liked this useful post by Bobzilla:


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Go Back to Forum My Forum

TRC Affiliates - Help TRC make a small amount of commission