TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, don't block the ads check them out instead. Thank you.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 43

Thread: 790 is back (new bike)

  1. #16
    Really Bored joe19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    3,703
    Like
    1,507
    Liked 1,036 in 863 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)


    TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like
    the content you find here, don't block the ads check
    them out instead. Thank you.
    Quote Originally Posted by GiantPygmy View Post
    No probs
    Did you get it from Premier?
    Yup!

  2. The following user liked this post made by joe19:


  3. #17
    Really Bored joe19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    3,703
    Like
    1,507
    Liked 1,036 in 863 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigyin View Post
    Is this possible on the KTM as it may solve some of the small issues raised across the assorted threads ?
    You can fiddle with quite a few bits - slide control/abs/wheelie etc. But the street, sport and track modes mostly relate to power/throttle response.

  4. #18
    Should Get Out More couchcommando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9,292
    Like
    163
    Liked 3,801 in 1,703 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by joe19 View Post
    Yup!
    Is it my old one but not your old one that tricky now has ?

  5. #19
    Really Bored joe19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    3,703
    Like
    1,507
    Liked 1,036 in 863 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by couchcommando View Post
    Is it my old one but not your old one that tricky now has ?
    Err, did you formally own it? Previous owner here was KTM @ Silverstone.

  6. #20
    Should Get Out More Weeksy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Newbury/Didcot
    Posts
    56,181
    Like
    2,945
    Liked 10,512 in 6,021 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by joe19 View Post
    Err, did you formally own it? Previous owner here was KTM @ Silverstone.
    Yeah he did, no it's not his old one.

  7. #21
    Really Bored joe19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    3,703
    Like
    1,507
    Liked 1,036 in 863 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    It's been a while! What's occurred:

    • The battery was a total dud. Gave up even after a full charge, sorted without cost to me.
    • One of the KTM mirrors was faulty too, kept moving, sorted.
    • New rubber!



    Plus a sexy sexy Topbox:




    My only gripe is the fueling on sport and race modes. Would really like that to be smoother. Hilltop told me that can't do much (how much longer will they even be around?!), any other options??

  8. The following user liked this post made by joe19:


  9. #22
    Should Get Out More Supermofo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,973
    Like
    3,240
    Liked 1,889 in 1,240 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Top box for the win

  10. The following user liked this post made by Supermofo:


  11. #23
    Should Get Out More Taipan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boerthal's hill
    Posts
    48,106
    Like
    16,696
    Liked 10,470 in 5,468 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by joe19 View Post
    It's been a while! What's occurred:

    • The battery was a total dud. Gave up even after a full charge, sorted without cost to me.
    • One of the KTM mirrors was faulty too, kept moving, sorted.
    • New rubber!



    Plus a sexy sexy Topbox:




    My only gripe is the fueling on sport and race modes. Would really like that to be smoother. Hilltop told me that can't do much (how much longer will they even be around?!), any other options??
    I think Hilltop must be discounted until he proves himself, but there are other tuners out there, anyone on the KTM forums got any proven results? BSD Performance in Peterborough (bit of a hike I know) have a good reputation but it doesn't look like they've doen a 790 yet?

    https://bsd.uk.com/category/bike-brand-news/ktm/

  12. #24
    Should Get Out More Weeksy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Newbury/Didcot
    Posts
    56,181
    Like
    2,945
    Liked 10,512 in 6,021 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by Taipan View Post
    I think Hilltop must be discounted until he proves himself, but there are other tuners out there, anyone on the KTM forums got any proven results? BSD Performance in Peterborough (bit of a hike I know) have a good reputation but it doesn't look like they've doen a 790 yet?

    https://bsd.uk.com/category/bike-brand-news/ktm/
    No-one... at all... anywhere...

  13. #25
    Should Get Out More Taipan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boerthal's hill
    Posts
    48,106
    Like
    16,696
    Liked 10,470 in 5,468 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by Weeksy View Post
    No-one... at all... anywhere...

    No one tried or no improvement to be made?

  14. #26
    Should Get Out More Weeksy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Newbury/Didcot
    Posts
    56,181
    Like
    2,945
    Liked 10,512 in 6,021 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by Taipan View Post
    No one tried or no improvement to be made?
    From what i've read on the forums, no-one is able to map them. Or no-one has tried... Not sure...

    Not unless someone goes down the Power Commander route.

  15. #27
    Should Get Out More Taipan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boerthal's hill
    Posts
    48,106
    Like
    16,696
    Liked 10,470 in 5,468 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by Weeksy View Post
    From what i've read on the forums, no-one is able to map them. Or no-one has tried... Not sure...

    Not unless someone goes down the Power Commander route.
    If the map is good then it must be the leanness that's causing it. Just read a visordown thread about a 790 dyno run and it seems it does run a little lean, might be worth trying an richener? Just looked and sadly accelerator module doesn't do one as they are crazy cheap, but booster plug does. No one using one of these yet?

    https://www.visordown.com/reviews/fi...e-scalpel-dyno

    https://www.boosterplug.com/shop/boo...-790-747p.html

  16. #28
    Should Get Out More Weeksy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Newbury/Didcot
    Posts
    56,181
    Like
    2,945
    Liked 10,512 in 6,021 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by Taipan View Post
    If the map is good then it must be the leanness that's causing it. Just read a visordown thread about a 790 dyno run and it seems it does run a little lean, might be worth trying an richener? Just looked and sadly accelerator module doesn't do one as they are crazy cheap, but booster plug does. No one using one of these yet?

    https://www.visordown.com/reviews/fi...e-scalpel-dyno

    https://www.boosterplug.com/shop/boo...-790-747p.html
    Not seen anyone matey...

  17. #29
    Should Get Out More GiantPygmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Posts
    22,170
    Like
    6,864
    Liked 5,703 in 3,032 posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    My 790 is my first KTM and I think the throttle is fine Sport Mode

    in rack Mode surely you'd want an 'aggressive' setting?

    I've only used Track mode err, on track, but you can set the mode up so you get Sport throttle response?

  18. #30
    Really Bored joe19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    3,703
    Like
    1,507
    Liked 1,036 in 863 posts

    Default Re: 790 is back (new bike)

    Quote Originally Posted by GiantPygmy View Post
    I've only used Track mode err, on track, but you can set the mode up so you get Sport throttle response?
    Oh really? Will try that.

    Yeah might just be a preference thing. I run the BMW in the most powerful 'mode' all year round as the throttle response is so predictable/smooth, at all speeds.

    It's not a show stopper, but would spend a bit of cash to smooth it out - if a solution were proven.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Go Back to Forum My Forum

TRC Affiliates - Help TRC make a small amount of commission