TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, don't block the ads check them out instead. Thank you.
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Wiring in indicators

  1. #1
    At Work asmethurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Krayville
    Posts
    1,510
    Like
    1,022
    Liked 285 in 215 posts

    Default Wiring in indicators


    TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like
    the content you find here, don't block the ads check
    them out instead. Thank you.
    I bought some cheapo bullet indicators on a whim (v cheap) and when they arrived they have a solitary wire instead of two - Ive bought myself some bullet connectors and a decent crimper - the bike is a 09 Bandit and has hazard warning lights etc .
    Are they compatible ? Do they earth via the indicator mount ?
    TIA
    Dick
    Last edited by asmethurst; 05-04-19 at 16:32.

  2. #2
    Should Get Out More Julian_Boolean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    1985
    Posts
    15,421
    Like
    1,112
    Liked 3,213 in 1,945 posts

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    I don't know how they earth, but you'll need resistors otherwise they'll flash too fast.

  3. The following user liked this post made by Julian_Boolean:


  4. #3
    At Work asmethurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Krayville
    Posts
    1,510
    Like
    1,022
    Liked 285 in 215 posts

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    Even with non LED ?

  5. #4
    Should Get Out More Julian_Boolean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    1985
    Posts
    15,421
    Like
    1,112
    Liked 3,213 in 1,945 posts

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    Quote Originally Posted by asmethurst View Post
    Even with non LED ?
    Depends on the resistance of the bulbs, but usually you'll need resistors.

  6. The following user liked this post made by Julian_Boolean:


  7. #5
    At Work asmethurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Krayville
    Posts
    1,510
    Like
    1,022
    Liked 285 in 215 posts

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    Ta - will play with them one the MOT is done ( they won't fit past a standard licence plate )

  8. #6
    Should Get Out More
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    A windswept Hebridean paradise.
    Posts
    21,894
    Like
    1
    Liked 4,027 in 2,301 posts
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    Quote Originally Posted by Julian_Boolean View Post
    I don't know how they earth, but you'll need resistors otherwise they'll flash too fast.

    Or a suitable relay.

  9. The following user liked this post made by cheb:


  10. #7
    Should Get Out More Yorick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lanzarote
    Posts
    38,691
    Like
    5,761
    Liked 5,621 in 3,522 posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    Quote Originally Posted by cheb View Post
    Or a suitable relay.
    4 x 400 ?

  11. #8
    Should Get Out More
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    A windswept Hebridean paradise.
    Posts
    21,894
    Like
    1
    Liked 4,027 in 2,301 posts
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    1600.

  12. #9
    Should Get Out More DefTrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Roger Barlow's Tour of Europe
    Posts
    23,839
    Like
    2,687
    Liked 2,551 in 1,519 posts

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    I wired in some resistors to allow my led indicators to work. You have to mess about with the dash wiring too if there's a dash bulb that flashes along with the indicators too. And you'll probably need a different flasher relay to the OE one.
    I've got about a million spare resistors by the way, you only seem to be able to buy them in millions ....

  13. The following user liked this post made by DefTrap:


  14. #10
    Should Get Out More
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    A windswept Hebridean paradise.
    Posts
    21,894
    Like
    1
    Liked 4,027 in 2,301 posts
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators


  15. The following user liked this post made by cheb:


  16. #11
    At Work asmethurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Krayville
    Posts
    1,510
    Like
    1,022
    Liked 285 in 215 posts

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    Quote Originally Posted by cheb View Post
    They are non LED - I just popped down to the lockup and they are too short to fit round the licence plate - .
    I'll have a fiddle post MOT

  17. #12
    Should Get Out More 1888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    JockLand
    Posts
    26,612
    Like
    840
    Liked 2,736 in 1,963 posts

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    Quote Originally Posted by asmethurst View Post
    Even with non LED ?
    Last time i changed to mini i kept front as standard. Scratching my nut why they started to flash to fast it turned out to be different bulb wattage from back to front

  18. The following user liked this post made by 1888:


  19. #13
    Should Get Out More a_morti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    11,938
    Like
    1,425
    Liked 1,062 in 686 posts

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    Sounds like you're considering hacking into a working loom to fit some cheap shite universal indicators.

    Stop and think about that before you do it.

    I've never seen indicators with only one wire. Seems dodgy. If it earths through the body that'll maybe be a wire solder to a zinc cast body, which won't hold long

  20. #14
    Should Get Out More 1888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    JockLand
    Posts
    26,612
    Like
    840
    Liked 2,736 in 1,963 posts

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    Bulb has to be connected to indicator mount bolt if its earthed that way. Just add this with a wire when tightening the nut up. Other end of wire into the looms original earth point. No need for dramatic loom cutting. If it dont work then its .99p down the drain. Move on to the £1.99 ones with two wired


  21. #15
    At Work asmethurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Krayville
    Posts
    1,510
    Like
    1,022
    Liked 285 in 215 posts

    Default Re: Wiring in indicators

    Iíve already given up on the idea as they wonít fit past the number plate - donít seem to be able to get through an MOT with a small plate now in my bit of London so Iíd have to mess around with it to get them to fit.
    Iíll put them in the corner with my other odds and sods bought on a whim cos they are cheap ....

Go Back to Forum My Forum

TRC Affiliates - Help TRC make a small amount of commission