TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like the content you find here, don't block the ads check them out instead. Thank you.
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

  1. #1
    A Bit Bored
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    2
    Like
    0
    Liked 0 in 0 posts

    Default Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.


    TRC is primarily funded by ad revenue. If you like
    the content you find here, don't block the ads check
    them out instead. Thank you.
    I'm using yamaha T150 motorcycle. I open my spark plug, and i see it's white, I go online and find out that my engine is lack of gasoline and more air. I want to adjust the air fit with the gasoline to get a brown color (the best) but my motorcycle is FI engine. So i cannot adjust by mechanism. My friend said that changing the air filter (make it more air come into engine) and then the FI system will adjust the gasoline to fit with the air. Is it right. if not can you tell me some trick to adjust that to get the best color of spark plug. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Should Get Out More
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    A windswept Hebridean paradise.
    Posts
    23,005
    Like
    2
    Liked 4,682 in 2,707 posts
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default Re: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

    Hello. How old is the air filter? Is it likely to be choked by dust? Can you try a new air filter to see if this solves the problem?

  3. #3
    A Bit Bored
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    2
    Like
    0
    Liked 0 in 0 posts

    Default Re: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

    Quote Originally Posted by cheb View Post
    Hello. How old is the air filter? Is it likely to be choked by dust? Can you try a new air filter to see if this solves the problem?
    the odo just 5000km ) it's very clean

  4. #4
    Should Get Out More Kneerly Down's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Highlands
    Posts
    9,928
    Like
    760
    Liked 1,562 in 967 posts

    Default Re: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

    Quote Originally Posted by LeDUT View Post
    My friend said that changing the air filter (make it more air come into engine) and then the FI system will adjust the gasoline to fit with the air. Is it right. if not can you tell me some trick to adjust that to get the best color of spark plug. Thank you.
    You've got too much air coming in for the petrol, so you want to get more air in...? So, probably not...no.
    Is the bike running okay?
    If it is running the wrong mix then fix the problem rather than trying to change something else to compensate.
    check for things affecting the fuel and air:
    - air leaks (after the FI sensor)
    - fuel starvation (fuel pump issue or just clogged fuel filter)
    - injector blockage
    - etc.

  5. #5
    Really Bored
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Llanafan & Holland
    Posts
    3,787
    Like
    93
    Liked 910 in 670 posts

    Default Re: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kneerly Down View Post
    You've got too much air coming in for the petrol, so you want to get more air in...? So, probably not...no.
    Is the bike running okay?
    If it is running the wrong mix then fix the problem rather than trying to change something else to compensate.
    check for things affecting the fuel and air:
    - air leaks (after the FI sensor)
    - fuel starvation (fuel pump issue or just clogged fuel filter)
    - injector blockage
    - etc.
    Dont forget the sensors Brian

  6. #6
    Should Get Out More Kneerly Down's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Highlands
    Posts
    9,928
    Like
    760
    Liked 1,562 in 967 posts

    Default Re: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

    Quote Originally Posted by davidat19 View Post
    Dont forget the sensors Brian
    Does the Vietnamese engine have them?

  7. #7
    Should Get Out More a_morti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malta
    Posts
    12,160
    Like
    1,557
    Liked 1,134 in 742 posts

    Default Re: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

    What have you changed on the bike? Does it have a bigger piston, opened exhaust, or opened air filter? The things would all cause the bike to run lean.

    Whatever you changed, put it back to normal parts and it'll run as intended.

    If you didn't change anything, give it a service and leave it alone.

  8. #8
    Not Much To Do ogri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    685
    Like
    735
    Liked 138 in 112 posts

    Default Re: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

    Modern fi bikes are designed to run lean (weak) to pass emission tests. You need to update the fueling map to run a bit richer. Try searching in google for a local place that could help/advise you.

  9. #9
    A Bit Bored
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Scarfolk, North West England
    Posts
    162
    Like
    72
    Liked 98 in 44 posts

    Default Re: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

    Quote Originally Posted by a_morti View Post
    What have you changed on the bike? Does it have a bigger piston, opened exhaust, or opened air filter? The things would all cause the bike to run lean.

    Whatever you changed, put it back to normal parts and it'll run as intended.

    If you didn't change anything, give it a service and leave it alone.
    If, having put things back to the way they should be and giving the bike a service, you find that the problem persists try a cooler grade spark plug.

  10. #10
    At Work
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    over Waterley Cross way
    Posts
    1,149
    Like
    64
    Liked 274 in 170 posts

    Default Re: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

    If it's running lean, which the plug suggests, it's too much air in the mix. I wonder if it's got the correct air filter in, or if somebody's been fiddling - common with small bikes. Or, as said, an air leak in, down the line from any sensor or a faulty sensor. I think I'd put it back together, standard, and ride it till it went bang which might be ages.
    Last edited by Wossname; 24-05-20 at 09:36.

  11. #11
    Should Get Out More Tomcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Where I want to be.
    Posts
    33,957
    Like
    1,893
    Liked 2,560 in 1,328 posts

    Default Re: Can I change the gasoline flow into FI engine by this way.

    Unless you have a running problem, put it back together and leave it alone. The ECU will compensate (within limits) for any changes in AFR so anything you do will be detected and corrected by the system.

Go Back to Forum My Forum

TRC Affiliates - Help TRC make a small amount of commission